PPM-PNC primary: 283 candidates, 71,000 eligible voters

A rally of PPM-PNC coalition. (Photo/Newslab)

Ruling PPM-PNC coalition states that 71,597 people are eligible to vote in the coalition’s parliamentary primary slated for tomorrow.

The coalition had originally scheduled the primaries for December 23, but it was later postponed to January 20, and again, to January 27.

The coalition’s Senior Spokesperson Heena Waleed, on Friday, said voting in the primary will proceed from 10:00am to 5:00pm on Saturday, adding that 71,597 people from 73 constituencies are eligible to vote.

A total of 227 ballot boxes will be placed across the Maldives for Saturday’s primary.

Ballot boxes for island constituents voting in Male’ City will be placed at Henveiru Stadium. Ballot boxes for Male’ constituents will be placed at Kalaafaanu School, Jamaluddeen School, Thaajuddeen School, Villimale' Youth Centre, Kamil Didi School and Rehendhi School.

A total of 283 candidates will be contesting in the primary.

Notably, the party will not be holding primaries for the constituencies of MDA’s leader Ahmed Siyam Mohamed, JP’s leader Qasim Ibrahim and MNP’s leader Mohamed Nazim; a decision which they described as a token of respect for the leaders of the three parties.

Thirteen members have also party’s ticket uncontested as no additional members had filed candidacy for the constituencies. They are:

  • Hoarafushi constituency: Ali Moosa
  • Baarah constituency: PNC’s Vice Chairperson Ibrahim Shujau
  • Hanimaadhoo constituency: Idhurees Abdulla
  • Eydhafushi constituency: Current MP Ahmed Saleem
  • Mahibadhoo constituency: Current MP Ahmed Thoriq
  • Nilandhoo constituency: Fathimath Saudha
  • Thimarafushi constituency: Ibrahim Sanah
  • Fonadhoo constituency: PNC’s chairperson Abdul Raheem Abdulla
  • Central Hithadhoo constituency: Journalist Ahmed Azan Marzooq
  • Hulhudhoo constituency: Former MP Mohamed Shahid (Shaad)
  • South Galolhu constituency: Ibrahim Mohamed
  • West Henveiru constituency: Ali Ibrahim
  • Central Henveiru constituency: Abdulla Shameez

Initially, the candidacies of some members were rejected for trying to create strife among the Progressive Congress coalition’s members in the wake of the 2023 presidential elections and for not having sufficiently served the party.

Protests that erupted following the decision led to the coalition’s leader, President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu deciding to allow all members who filed candidacies to contest in the primary.