Multiple former MPs secure PPM-PNC tickets for Majlis elections

At least half a dozen former lawmakers eye a return to the Parliament, after having won the ruling PPM-PNC primaries for the upcoming parliamentary elections.

Polling took place in the PPM-PNC primaries from 10:00 am to 05:00 pm on Saturday. Preliminary results show that multiple former lawmakers have secured the coalition’s ticket for the elections.

Some of the candidates who won the primaries are:

  • Vilimale’ constituency: Former MP Mohamed Ismail
  • Central Maafannu constituency: Former MP Asma Rasheed
  • South Maafannu constituency: Former MP Abdulla Rifau (Bochey)
  • Inguraidhoo constituency: Former MP Mohamed Falah
  • Milandhoo constituency: Former MP Hassan Mufeed
  • North Thinadhoo constituency: Former MP Saudhulla Hilmy
  • North Henveiru constituency: Ahmed Aifan, Male’ City councilor
  • Maafushi constituency: Hussain Riza Adam, former contender for Thulusdhoo seat
  • North Hulhumale’ constituency: Hussain Shareef
  • Alifushi constituency: Abdul Latheef Abdul Rahman

The polling on Saturday was marred by several disruptions, including in polling stations in Kalaafaanu School and Thaajuddin School in Male’ City.

Disturbances were also reported from several polling stations as officials counted the ballots.

238 candidates contested for PPM-PNC tickets in 73 electoral districts. 71,597 members of the coalition were eligible to vote in the primaries.

Speaking to reporters after a visit to a polling station in Henveiru Stadium on Saturday afternoon, President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu said the ruling coalition aims to win a supermajority in the Parliament with at least 62 seats.

The parliamentary elections is scheduled to take place on March 17.