Final results: MDP takes lead in councils with 75-seat margin

Parliament Speaker, former President President Mohamed Nasheed (L) shakes hands with President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (R) at the launch of Rahvehi Fathis, MDP's campaign for the local council elections 2020, on February 21, 2020. (Sun Photo/Mohamed Muzain Nazim)

Final results announced by Elections Commission reveal the main ruling party, Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) won the greatest number of seats in the recent Local Council Elections with a 75-seat margin.

The Local Council Elections was held on April 10 to elect 982 councilors.

Final results show MDP won 400 out of the 804 seats they ran for – which made for 40 percent of the total seats, and 49.8 percent of the 804 seats MDP ran for.

Meanwhile, main opposition party, Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM), won 325 of the 647 seats they ran for – which made for 33 percent of total seats, and 50 percent of the seats they ran for.

Government coalition partner Jumhoory Party (JP) won 11 of the 161 seats they ran for. Other coalition partners Adhaalath Party (AP) won 11 of the 28 seats they ran for, while Maldives Reform Movement (MRM) won one of the 15 seats they ran for.

Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) won 16 of the 20 seats they competed for, and Maldives Labor and Social Democratic Party (MLSDP) won one of the four seats they competed for.

An additional 600 candidates competed independently, 173 of whom won.

MDP won 25 seats in cities. This includes mayoral seats in three cities: Addu City, Kulhudhuffushi City and Fuvahmulah City.

The mayoral seat in Male’ City, however, was won by PPM. MDP lost its long-held majority at the Male’ City Council to PPM which won 11 seats. PPM won 17 seats in cities overall.

MDP secured majorities in 18 atolls, including presidential seat in 11 atolls. PPM, meanwhile, won the presidential seat in 7 atolls.

And in island councils, MDP and PPM won the presidential seats in 71 islands each, and 155 island council member seats each.