3 NIC members resign in face of impending dismissal

(From L-R) NIC’s vice president Hassaan Hameed, and members Khadheeja Abdulla and Ahmed Ameen.

Three of the four members of the National Integrity Commission (NIC) - who the Parliament’s Independent Institutions Committee made the decision to recommend the President to dismiss – have tendered their resignation.

President’s Office confirms NIC’s vice president Hassaan Hameed, and members Ahmed Ameen and Khadheeja Abdulla tendered their resignation on Thursday.

Their resignation had come after the Parliament’s Independent Institutions Committee found the three, along with NIC president Ahmed Sulaiman, had failed to uphold their responsibilities, and voted in favor of recommending the President to dismiss all four members on Wednesday.

All four members were appointed during the previous administration.

The fifth and last member of NIC is Colonel (Retired) Ahmed Jihad. He was appointed by the current administration in November last year.

The resignation of the three NIC members comes ahead of a vote on the committee’s decision at the parliamentary floor.

The appointment and dismissal of NIC members lies with the President.

Following the resignation of the three NIC members, the President’s Office has opened applications for the vacancies.

Applications are available from the reception of the President’s Office, and are also available for download from the President’s Office website.

The office will accept applications from July 19 to 21, between 09:30 to 12:30.

NIC is responsible for investigating unlawful acts by law enforcement agencies and law enforcement officers. It is responsible for investigating such unlawful acts where the commission of such act is suspected or if any party submits a complaint that such an act has or is being committed.