Opposition submits no-confidence motion against Fisheries Minister Zaha

Fisheries Minister Zaha Waheed. (Sun Photo/Fayaz Moosa)

Opposition parliamentarians have submitted a no-confidence motion against Fisheries Minister Zaha Waheed to the Parliament alleging failure to deliver pledges made to fishermen.

The motion against her reads that the Zaha has failed to work satisfactory to deliver numerous pledges made by the current administration to fishermen, including the pledge to ensure fishermen a fair rate for their catch, provide them ice, and ensure they receive USD.

The motion was submitted with the signature of 11 parliamentarians. They are:

  • Parliament minority leader, Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem
  • Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef
  • Naifaru MP Ahmed Shiyam
  • Guraidhoo MP Mohamed Ghassan Maumoon
  • Maavah MP Mohamed Saeed
  • Guraidhoo MP Ibrahim Riza
  • Faresmathoda MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef
  • Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Toriq
  • Felidhoo MP Ibrahim Fazul Rasheed
  • Nolhivaram MP Mohamed Nasheed Abdulla
  • Kaashidhoo MP Abdulla Jabir

Zaha was previously summoned by the Parliament for questioning following failure to establish many of the regulations required under the new Fisheries Act.

Zaha was appointed Fisheries Minister on a slot to government coalition partner MRM.

The move to oust Zaha by the opposition comes after the Parliament recently dismissed Mohamed Maleeh Jamal – who has been serving as Technology Minister on a slot to government coalition partner JP – in a no-confidence vote pushed by ruling MDP.