Riyaz: 4 leaders agree to join forces for parliament, council elections

Leader of Jumhoory Party’s parliamentary group, Kinbidhoo MP Abdulla Riyaz. (Sun Photo/Fayaz Moosa)

The four leaders of the government coalition are in agreement to join forces to contest the upcoming parliamentary elections and local council elections, says leader of Jumhoory Party’s parliamentary group, Abdulla Riyaz.

Speaking during the function held last Tuesday night to mark two new lawmakers joining JP, Kinbidhoo MP Abdulla Riyaz said JP should now be focused on winning the slots allocated to the party for the Parliamentary Elections 2019.

He also pledged support of the JP parliamentary group to ensuring the success of President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih’s legislative agenda.

Riyaz also said the four coalition have a pre-existing agreement, not just for the presidential elections which the coalition won, but the upcoming parliamentary elections as well.

“Our leaders did not have an agreement just to elect a President. But our leaders have an agreement to work together at the Parliament. And to work together for the next council elections,” said Riyaz.

He said the people elected the coalition’s candidate as their president with its promise to work together for the parliamentary elections and the local council elections as well.

Addressing the controversy surrounding JP’s agenda for the parliamentary elections, Riyaz provided assurance JP will honor its agreement with its coalition partners.

“It is my hope our leaders discuss this and allocate slots for the constituencies as previously agreed,” said Riyaz.

Riyaz also said the coalition must not forget its vows during its campaign to hold the previous administration accountable for its transgressions. He said the coalition must be focused towards recovering missing State funds.

Despite his comments, there is divide within the coalition parties over the best way to approach the parliamentary elections. Activists and several high-ranking members of the main government party Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) are advocating that MDP contest for all 87 parliamentary seats.