Independently elected Nolhivaram MP-elect signs with PNC

Independently elected Nolivaram MP-elect Mohamed Rasheed (Rasheedbe) signs with ruling PNC. (Photo/PNC)

Independently elected Nolivaram MP-elect Mohamed Rasheed (Rasheedbe) has signed with the main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC).

PNC had endorsed several independent candidates over those contesting on the party’s ticket for the parliamentary elections held on Sunday.

A PNC candidate had also contested for Nolhivaram constituency in Sunday’s election. However, he had lost to Rasheed. The preliminary results for the constituency are as follows;

  • Mohamed Rasheed (Rasheedbe) – 722 votes
  • Incumbent Nolhivaram MP Mohamed Nasheed Abdulla (Mosta) who contested independently – 427 votes
  • PNC’s candidate Ahmed Ashraf – 652 votes
  • Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)’s candidate Ali Abdul Rahman – 369 votes
  • Jumhoory Party (JP)’s candidate Hussain Shahudhy – 186 votes

Six other candidates who contested Sunday’s election independently apart from Rasheed also signed with PNC on Tuesday. They are:

  • Dr. Anara Naeem: Huraa constituency
  • Hassan Zareer: Mathiveri constituency
  • Ahmed Zameer: Central Machangolhi constituency
  • Ahmed Riyaz: Thimarafushi constituency
  • Yaseen Abdulla: Naifaru constituency
  • Azim Abdul Azeez: Vilingili constituency

PNC had secured a landslide victory in Sunday’s elections; winning 66 out of 93 seats. With seven MP-elects signing with the party, PNC will now have 73 seats in the 20th parliamentary assembly.

This does not take into account the candidates from other parties backed by the government; Maldives National Party (MNP)’s leader Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim, Maldives Development Alliance (MDA)’s leader Ahmed Siyam Mohamed, and Mohamed Abbas – a political from MDA who won the Velidhoo seat.

The new parliamentary assembly will be sworn-in on May 28th.