Half of current MPs fail at their re-election bid

Lawmakers pictures during a sitting at the Parliament. (File Photo/People's Majlis)

Over half of the current lawmakers of the 18th People’s Majlis were met with failure in their re-election bids during the parliamentary elections held in Maldives on Saturday, April 6.

Data collected by ‘Sun’ shows 44 lawmakers failed to get re-elected to the Parliament.

They include 17 lawmakers from the main opposition parties Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and People’s National Congress (PNC); 12 lawmakers from Jumhoory Party (JP) – which aligned itself with PPM and PNC for the election; 13 lawmakers who made re-election bids as independent candidates; one lawmaker from ruling party Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP); one lawmaker from Adhaalath Party (AP); and one lawmaker from Maldives Development Alliance (MDA).

The current longest serving lawmaker at the Parliament, Kanditheemu MP Mohamed Hussain lost his re-election bid to former Biledhdhoo councilman, Abdulla Shaheem, by just 180 votes.

Other great upsets include the failure of PPM’s parliamentary group leader, MP Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik, and the failure of MP Riyaz Rasheed – who was the deputy leader of PPM’s parliamentary group before he defected to JP following ex-President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom’s failed re-election bid in 2018.

The lawmakers who failed at re-election:

  1. Mohamed Ismail (PPM) Hoarafushi Constituency
  2. Mohamed Abdulla (Independent) Ihavandhoo Constituency
  3. Ibrahim Shujau (PPM) Baarah Constituency
  4. Abdul Latheef Mohamed (Independent) Dhidhdhoo Constituency
  5. Ali Arif (PPM) Kelaa Constituency
  6. Hussain Shahudhee (JP) Hanimaadhoo Constituency
  7. Hussain Areef (Independent) Nolhivaram Constituency
  8. Mohamed Nasheed (Independent) North Kulhudhuffushi Constituency
  9. Anara Naeem (AP) Makunudhoo Constituency
  10. Mohamed Hussain (JP) Kanditheem Constituency
  11. Hussain Mufeed Abdul Gadhir (PPM) Milandhoo Constituency
  12. Ali Saleem (PPM) Funadhoo Constituency
  13. Ali Mauroof (MDA) Kendhikulhudhoo Constituency
  14. Ilham Ahmed (JP) Ungoofaaru Constituency
  15. Mohamed Ali (PPM) Dhuvaafaru Constituency
  16. Ibrahim Falah (PPM) Inguraidhoo Constituency
  17. Mohamed Ameeth Ahmed Manik (JP) Maduvvari Constituency
  18. Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim (Independent) Thulusdhoo Constituency
  19. Hussain Mohamed (JP) Mathiveri Constituency
  20. Ibrahim Hassan (JP) Thoddoo Constituency
  21. Moosa Nizar Ibrahim (JP) Keyodhoo Constituency
  22. Ahmed Mubeen (JP) Biledhdhoo Constituency
  23. Abdulla Khaleel (PPM) Nilandhoo Constituency
  24. Riyaz Rasheed (JP) Vilufushi Constituency
  25. Mohamed Musthafa (MDP) Thimarafushi Constituency
  26. Hussain Manik Dhonmanik (JP) Th. Guraidhoo Constituency
  27. Ahmed Rasheed Ibrahim (JP) Isdhoo Constituency
  28. Abdul Raheem Abdulla (PNC) Fonadhoo Constituency
  29. Jameel Usman (Independent) Gemanafushi Constituency
  30. Saudhulla Hilmy (Independent) North Thinadhoo Constituency
  31. Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik (PPM) South Thinadhoo Constituency (change in constituency)
  32. Abdulla Ahmed (JP) South Thinadhoo Constituency (change in constituency)
  33. Muaz Mohamed Rasheed (PPM) Madaveli Constituency
  34. Ahmed Rasheed (PNC) Gadhdhoo Constituency
  35. Ali Shah (Independent) North Fuvahmulah Constituency
  36. Ali Fazadh (Independent) South Fuvahmulah (change in constituency)
  37. Mohamed Shahid (PPM) Hulhudhoo Constituency
  38. Ibrahim Didi (Independent) Feydhoo Constituency
  39. Mohamed Abdul Kareem (Independent) South Henveyru Constituency
  40. Ahmed Assad (PPM) South Galolhu Constituency
  41. Ahmed Faris Maumoon (Independent) North Machangolhi (change in constituency)
  42. Abdulla Sinan (Independent) South Machangolhi Constituency
  43. Asma Rasheed (PPM) Central Maafannu Constituency
  44. Abdulla Rifau (PPM) South Maafannu Constituency

Interim results show ruling party MDP has secured 66 out of the 87 seats at the Parliament – gaining a supermajority. JP secured 5 seats, PPM secured 5 seats, MDA secured 2 seats, PNC secured 2 seats, and the Parliament will also have 7 independent candidates.