EC to recount 3 ballot boxes of Maavashu Constituency

Interim Deputy Leader of PNC, Mohamed Saeed. (File Photo/Sun/Fayaz Moosa)

Elections Commission (EC) has announced the decision to recount ballot boxes kept for one constituency in the parliamentary elections held in Maldives on Saturday, April 6.

Though the EC has declined to name the constituency at this point, ‘Sun’ has been informed the recount will be carried out on three ballot boxes kept for the Maavashu Constituency.

Interim results for the Maavashu Constituency place former Economic Minister and Interim Deputy Leader of People’s National Congress (PNC), Mohamed Saeed at the lead by just six votes.

Close at his heels is Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) candidate Ibrahim Falah – who received 847 votes, followed by current Maavashu MP Ahmed Azhan Fahmy who received 650 votes.

When asked for a comment regarding the recount, Saeed said he did not believe there existed any issue which could affect the outcome of the results, and said he was yet to be officially informed of a recount.

Maavashu Constituency consists of:

  • L. Maavashu
  • L. Hithadhoo
  • L. Kunahandhoo

The number of eligible voters in the constituency is 2,789.

Interim results show ruling party MDP has secured 66 out of the 87 seats at the Parliament – gaining a supermajority. JP secured 5 seats, PPM secured 5 seats, MDA secured 2 seats, PNC secured 2 seats, and the Parliament will also have 7 independent candidates.