13 MPs who left MDP signs to PNC

13 MDP MPs join PNC.

13 MPs who left main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) have signed to main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) on Thursday night.

The MPs signed and handed over the membership form to PNC’s leader, President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu.

The 13 MPs are:

  • Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef
  • Feydhoo MP Mohamed Nihadh
  • South Mahchangolhi MP Ahmed Haitham
  • Isdhoo MP Ali Hameed
  • Kanditheemu MP Abdulla Shaheem Abdul Hakeem
  • Kurendhoo MP Abdul Ghanee
  • Mathivehi MP Hassan Zareer
  • Mulah MP Ibrahim Naseer
  • Nilandhoo MP Abdul Muhsin Hameed (J4)
  • South Maafannu MP Adam Ali
  • Komandoo MP Mohamed Rashid
  • Thoddoo MP Hassan Shiyan
  • Guraidhoo MP Ibrahim Shaaz

The former MDP MPs have signed to PNC at a time when the main opposition party has accused the government of bribing the MPs to floor cross. The government, however, has denied the allegations.

The signing of the 13 MPs strengthens PNC’s parliamentary group. The party will also become the parliament’s minority party with a total of 15 MPs.

It would also decrease the number of MDP MPs in the parliament from 56 to 43.

President Muizzu welcomed the MPs who joined PNC, expressing hope for more MPs to join the party in the future.