Saleem appointed as minority leader of parliament

Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem. (Photo/Parliament)

Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem has been appointed as the minority leader of the PPM PG group of the parliament.

Saleem was appointed following the increase in the number of PPM MP’s to six after Faresmaathodaa MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef joined the party.

The parliament is controlled by the governing MDP and PPM remains the party with the highest number of seats next. MDP has 65 seats while PPM has six currently. Jumhooree Party also controls five seats while PNC controlled three and MDA controlled two seats.

MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef was elected to the parliament as an independent MP.