Nominations submitted to appoint 8 foreign ambassadors

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Abdulla Shahid (R) with President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (L) at the President's Office on November 17, 2018. (Photo/President's Office)

President’s Office has submitted its nominations for ambassadors to eight bilateral partners.

The office confirms the names of the eight nominees have now been sent to the Parliament as required by Article 115 of the Maldivian Constitution.


  1. Maldivian Ambassador to Brussels, Hassan Soabir, G. Fiyaathoshige, Male’ City
  2. Maldivian Ambassador to India, Aishath Mohamed Didi, H. Dhoorihaa, Male’ City
  3. Maldivian Ambassador to Singapore, Dr. Abdulla Mausoom, Dhafthar no. 4336
  4. Maldivian Ambassador to Germany, Ahmed Latheef, H. Seaweed, Male’ City
  5. Maldivian Ambassador to the UK, Dr. Farhanaz Faisal, H. Ameeneege, Male’ City
  6. Permanent Representative of Maldives at the UN and Maldivian Ambassador to the US, Thilmeeza Hussain, H. Noohiri, Male’ City
  7. Maldivian Ambassador to Malaysia, Wisam Ali, H. Aazaadh Vaadhee, Male’ City
  8. Maldivian Ambassador to Sri Lanka, Umar Abdul Razzaq, H. Hikifinifenmaage, Male’ City

The nominees need to be assessed and approved by the Parliament before they can be appointed.