Shujau tops Majlis elections with highest votes

Ibrahim Shujau (C) is welcomed upon arrival in HA. Utheem after his election victory. (Photo/X/Ibrahim Shujau)

Ibrahim Shujau, the deputy leader of the main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC), produced the best results in the parliamentary elections held last week, by winning the highest number of votes.

Ismail Habeeb, the former vice chairman of Elections Commission (EC), shared some of the highlights of the recent elections in a post on X on Sunday.

According to the data, Shujau, who successfully contested his former Baarah seat on behalf of his party, received the highest number of votes for a candidate during the elections, with 2,447 votes. He also secured the highest margin, winning by 83.49 percent.

In second place was Yoosuf Nasheed, who won the Gan seat on a PNC ticket. He received 1,853 votes.

In third place was another PNC candidate, Abdulla Shameez, who won the Central Hulhumale’ seat with 1,746 votes.

Meanwhile, Ahmed Siyam Mohamed, the leader of Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) and the incumbent representative for Meedhoo constituency, received the second highest percentage of votes, with 73.73 percent. He received 1,558 votes to win his re-election bid.

Over 200,000 Maldivians voted in the parliamentary elections held on April 21, in which 326 candidates contested for 93 seats in the next parliamentary assembly, including six news seats.

The ruling party’s candidates ran for 90 seats.

The preliminary results show PNC won 66 seats, which is more than two-thirds of the Parliament.

Meanwhile, the main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), suffered a heavy defeat, winning just 12 of the 89 seats it ran for.

Meanwhile, the Maldives Development Alliance (MDA), which is allied with PNC, won two seats, while the Maldives National Party (MNP), another one of the ruling party’s allies, won one.

Jumhoory Party (JP) won one seat, and 11 independent candidates also won seats.

Meanwhile, the Democrats and Adhaalath Party (AP) failed to secure any seats.

At least seven of the independent candidates who won the elections have since signed with PNC.