MDP’s parliamentary election candidates swear against switching party

MDP candidates contesting parliamentary elections take oath against switching parties at the parliamentary campaign launching event on February 26, 2024. (Sun Photo/Mohamed Maavee)

All candidates contesting the upcoming parliamentary election on main opposition MDP’s ticket swore by Almighty Allah against switching their parties during their electoral term if elected to the parliament in their respective constituencies.

The candidates took the oath during a ceremony held at Usfasgandu on Monday night to launch MDP’s parliamentary campaign, ‘Misraabu Hama Magah’. The oath was administered by the party’s chairperson Fayyaz Ismail.

Apart from stating that the candidates must remain with the party till the conclusion of their electoral term, the oath also stated that the candidates must abide by the party’s constitution and regulations in addition to the party’s parliamentary group’s regulations.

MDP won 65 seats in the ongoing 19th parliamentary assembly. Several MDP lawmakers were among members of the party who defected to form a new political party mid-last year following internal conflicts. An additional 13 lawmakers joined ruling PNC on December 28.

Therefore, the number of lawmakers representing MDP in the parliament has been reduced to 41. PNC has become the minority party with 16 lawmakers.