List of candidates for Maldives Media Council elections released

Home Ministry has released the list of candidates for the upcoming Maldives Media Council (MMC) elections.

The MMC elections are scheduled to be held December 10.

The Home Ministry released the list of candidates in a statement Monday.

The candidates:

  • Ahmed Azif – Sun Online
  • Mohamed Afzal – Dheenuge Magu
  • Moosa Rasheed – Mihaaru Online
  • Mohamed Simau – One Online
  • Shimla Ahmed – AO News
  • Mohamed Afrah – Thiladhun
  • Ali Nishan – Aafathis Online
  • Hussain Shareef – Vaguthu Online
  • Ahmed Mustafa – Public Service Media
  • Mohamed Fazloon – SanguTV

In addition to the 10 candidates from medias, 12 more candidates are competing in the elections as individual candidates.

MMC is composed of 15 members; eight representatives from medias and seven general members.

The term of 13 of the members are set to expire December 14.