Dr Jameel: 90% of MMPRC Corruption list is MDP leaders

Former Vice President Dr. Mohamed Jameel Ahmed. (Sun Photo/Fayaz Moosa)

Former Vice President Dr Mohamed Jameel Ahmed said that 90 percent of those on the Maldives Marketing and Public Relations Corporation (MMPRC) Corruption beneficiary list were leading members of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP).

Speaking during a programme broadcasted by local Channal13, Dr Jameel stated that former President Mohamed Nasheed, has admitted that it was his doing.

Jameel noted that Nasheed’s statements were proven right when the list was publicized, where 90 percent of those included were leading members of MDP.

He also accused that members of this government has used money from that corruption, and should be ashamed of calling PPM members thieves.

Additionally, Jameel said that the main agenda of MDP has always been stealing, and that can be seen from both governments from the party.

“I am saying very clearly that MDP’s aim has always been stealing. They have been stealing. Plan to steal. All they do is steal.”

Speaking in this regard, he noted that former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom’s win in 2013’s presidential election by a large margin was also due to the citizens no longer wanting Nasheed as the leader because of all that happened during his presidency.

He alleged that MDP has always paved the way for corruption, and highlighted that their government sold off the country’s main airport and sold off Dhiraagu’s shares in a similar manner.

“This is a small country. The biggest resources we have are land and lagoons. President Nasheed agenda was selling off those resources to international companies for much lower prices.”

The MMPRC scandal saw massive funds received from prospective developers as acquisition costs and other payments of islands to be leased and developed for tourism purposes be rerouted to government officials and others as bribes or payments and for personal gain and wealth.


Of the 282 people on the list, 119 are former and incumbent state officials. This includes 16 incumbent parliamentarians as well.