4 members appointed to Civil Service Commission

Four new members appointed to Civil Service Commission take their oath before President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih on September 3, 2020. (Photo/President's Office)

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, on Thursday, appointed four members to Civil Service Commission (CSC).

The four members are:

  • Fathimath Shareef, Maakoalhi, G. Dh. Thinadhoo
  • Ibrahim Rasheed, Black, R. Meedhoo
  • Mohamed Farushath, H. Twohearts, Male’
  • Mohamed Nasih, M. Falconge, Male’

They were presented with their letter of appointment in a ceremony held at the President’s Office on Thursday afternoon. Their oath was administered by Supreme Court Justice Aisha Shujoon Mohamed.

Fathimath Shareef, Ibrahim Rasheed, Mohamed Farushath and Mohamed Nasih had secured the backing of the Parliament for their appointment to CSC earlier this week.

Of the four new members appointed to CSC, Mohamed Farushath has most recently served as Maldives Media Council’s secretary-general, while Mohamed Nasih had most recently served as Maldives Broadcasting Commission’s secretary-general.

They fill the vacancies left in the wake of the resignation of CSC’s former president Dr. Ali Shameem, former vice president Shaheed Mohamed and former member Zakariyya Hussain, and the impeachment of former member Ibrahim Shaheeq in July.