Sri Lanka election: President Solih congratulates Mr. Gotabhaya on election victory

Mr. Gotabhaya Rajapaksa: Mr. Gotabhaya won the election for Sri Lankan Presidency on November 17, 2019.

President Solih congratulates Gotabhaya Rajapaksa on election victory

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has sent warm congratulations to Sri Lanka’s presidential election winner Gotabhaya Rajapaksa.

President Solih stated his desire to move forward with the already excellent relationship between the two countries in the congratulatory tweet sent today.

Gotabhaya Rajapaksa has won 50 percent of the temporary tally of the electoral votes counted so far. Mr. Gotabhaya is the younger brother of Mahinda Rajapaksa and ran under the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Party (SLP).

Around 15.9 million people were eligible to vote in the election. Turnout stood at 80% which is nearly 12 million people. The election results will be announced around 15:00 and 16:00 today and the new President will be sworn in tomorrow, according to Sri Lankan authorities.

Mr. Gotabhaya Rajapaksa is the younger brother of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa and served as the countries’ defense secretary from 2005 to 2015. The two men were heavily involved and credited in ending the 26-year civil war of the country.

Premadasa concedes defeat

United National Party candidate and closest rival to Mr. Gotabhaya, Sajith Premadasa also conceded defeat and resigned from his post as the deputy leader of the party before congratulating Mr. Gotabhaya on his victory. 

Mr. Premadasa also called on Mr. Gotabhaya to refrain from taking steps against any Sri Lankan citizen or those who campaigned against Mr. Gotabhaya who was part of Mr. Premadasa’s coalition.

Mr. Sajith Permadasa (R) and Mr. Gotabhaya Rajapaksa (L): The two candidates competed in the Sri Lankan presidential elections on November 17, 2019, with Mr. Gotabhaya eventually winning the election.

The temporary results show Mr. Premadasa trailing behind Mr. Gotabhaya with 3.5 million votes. Mr. Gotabhaya received around 4.1 million votes. 

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih will be taking part in the swear-in ceremony of the Sri Lankan presidency.