Nihan, Shujau, Saeed and Mundhu elected deputy leaders of PNC

(Clockwise from L-R) Adam Shareef Umar, Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik, Mohamed Saeed, Ibrahim Shujau, and Mohamed Hussain Shareef (Mundhu). (Photo/Sun/Fayaz Moosa)

Opposition party, People’s National Congress (PNC) has appointed four deputy leaders to the party.

Five candidates ran for deputy leaders of PNC during its congress at Billabong High School last Friday.

The most votes went to Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik - who recently joined PNC from its ally Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) – where he served as parliamentary group leader.

The other three candidates who won by popular vote are Maavashu MP-elect Mohamed Saeed, Baarashu MP Ibrahim Shujau, and former Maldivian Ambassador to Sri Lanka Mohamed Hussain Shareef (Mundhu).

Meanwhile, former Deputy Tourism Minister Mohamed Nimal failed to secure enough votes and lost.


  • Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik – 126 votes
  • Ibrahim Shujau – 122 votes
  • Mohamed Hussain Shareef (Mundhu) – 122 votes
  • Mohamed Saeed – 120 votes
  • Mohamed Nimal – 39 votes

PNC announced during its congress that its bylaws has been amended to class the leader of its parliamentary group to the same level as its deputy leaders, and that PNC therefore had five deputy leaders.

The parliamentary group leader of PNC is Maduvvari MP-elect Adam Shareef Umar – former Minister of Defense – who was already serving as one if its interim deputy leaders.

The delay in voting during congress means PNC will hold the function to mark the completion of its congress this Saturday night. The event will be attended by former Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom – leader of main opposition party, PPM.