AP opens application for 13 parliamentary districts

Leader of Adhaalath Party (AP), Minister of Home Affairs, Sheikh Imran Abdulla (R). (File Photo)

Adhaalath Party (AP) has announced its will be contesting for 13 parliamentary districts, and opened application for its members who wish to run for the Parliamentary Elections 2019 on behalf of the party.

The new Parliament will have 87 seats, and AP has announced it will be completing for 13 seats.

The 13 districts AP is running for are:

  1. Kelaa constituency
  2. Vaikaradhoo constituency
  3. Makunudhoo constituency
  4. Hanimaadhoo constituency
  5. Inguraidhoo constituency
  6. Kaashidhoo constituency
  7. Mahibadhoo constituency
  8. Mulaku constituency
  9. Nilandhoo constituency
  10. Gan constituency
  11. South Fuvahmulah constituency
  12. Feydhoo constituency
  13. South Maafannu constituency

The AP issued a statement this Thursday, instructing interested parties to submit the application form, legal form and endorsement form to the AP headquarters by January 20.

Parliamentary Elections 2019 is scheduled to be held on April 6.

Only the main ruling party, Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) is running for all 87 parliamentary seats. The other coalition partners, Jumhoory Party (JP) is yet to announce its plans for the elections, while the Maumoon Reform Movement (MRM) has opened the opportunity to apply for interested parties who wish to run for the Parliament with the endorsement of former Maldivian President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom.

Meanwhile, the main opposition party, Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) is in the middle of a legal dispute over its leadership, and the senior leadership of the party aligned to former Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom has filed to register a new political party, the People’s National Congress (PNC).