MTD registered as a political party

Founder and interim council member of Maldives Third-Way Democrats (MTD), Ismail Asif (2nd R) receives certificate of registration from President of Elections Commission (EC) Ahmed Shareef (C) on December 27, 2018. (Photo/Elections Commission)

Maldives Third-Way Democrats (MTD) has been registered as a political party by Elections Commission (EC).

EC has confirmed MTD received its certificate of registration this Thursday.

The registration of MTD as a political party means Maldives currently has seven registered political parties. They are:

  1. Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)
  2. Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM)
  3. Jumhoory Party (JP)
  4. Maldives Development Alliance (MDA)
  5. Adhaalath Party (AP)
  6. Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP)
  7. Maldives Third-Way Democrats (MTD)

MTD, founded by Ismail Asif, President of Maldivian National Chamber of Commerce and Industries (MNCCI), held its first congress on December 24, and elected 11 interim council members include founder Ismail Asif, Velidhoo MP Abdulla Yameen, and Mariyam Nashwa – spouse of former Vice President Ahmed Adeeb Abdul Gafoor.


  1. Ismail Asif
  2. Abdulla Yameen
  3. Mariyam Nashwa
  4. Aminath Wijna Mohamed
  5. Saaif Ahmed
  6. Mohamed Reehan
  7. Abdul Rasheed Nafiz
  8. Mariyam Siyana
  9. Nimthaz Hilmy
  10. Hoodh Abdul Haseeb
  11. Aanisa Hassan

Four more new political parties received permission from EC for form as political parties this year; Maldives Labor and Social Democratic Party (MLSDP), People’s Action Party (PAP), People’s National Congress (PNC), and Gaumee Vindhu (GV). But MTD is the first political party to be registered this year.