By-elections on hold until 12 MP issue resolved

12 disqualified lawmakers attend Supreme Court. (File Photo/Sun/Fayaz Moosa)

Elections Commission (EC) has revoked its earlier decision to hold by-elections for 12 constituencies until Supreme Court issues its verdict on the disqualification of the 12 lawmakers.

EC tweeted this Wednesday that its decision has been shared with relevant agencies.

The 12 MPs EC disqualified for floor crossing are:

  • South Machangolhi MP Abdulla Sinan
  • Dhangethi MP Ilhaam Ahmed
  • South Thinadhoo MP Abdulla Ahmed
  • Vilingili MP Saudh Hussain
  • Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim
  • Maduvvari MP Mohamed Ameeth
  • Dhidhdhoo MP Abdul Latheef Mohamed
  • North Thinadhoo MP Saudhulla Hilmy
  • Hanimaadhoo MP Hussain Shahudhy
  • Ihavandhoo MP Mohamed Abdulla (Muhanmaa)
  • Thimarafushi MP Mohamed Musthafa
  • North Fuvahmulah MP Ali Shah

EC disqualified the 12 MPs based on the Anti-Defection Act passed by the People’s Majlis. The law which disqualifies MPs for floor crossing states it will take effect starting from July 13.

The decision by EC led to the 12 MPs filing a petition with Supreme Court. The court revoked the disqualification of the 12 MPs in its order on February 1, the order was later rescinded by the court.

Supreme Court has announced it will make a decision on the 12 MPs soon.