Landslide win for Siyam evident of popularity

Dh. Meedhoo MP Ahmed Siyam; he defends the parliamentary seat for the 20th parliament assembly with a landslide win -- Sun Photo/ Moosa Nadheem

Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) President and Dhaalu atoll Meedhoo MP Ahmed Siyam Mohamed has been elected for the consituency for a fifth time.

Siyam secured Meedhoo seat for a fifth time at Sunday's parliamentary election, for the 20th assembly.

Out of the 2,156 votes cast for the constituency, Siyam secured 1,558 votes, which is 73.73% of the total votes.

His opponents, independent candidate Ali Rasheed secured just 304 votes whereas MDP candidate Iyas Ismail received only 251 votes.

Before he made official announcement to contend in this year's parliamentary elections, Siyam met with his constituents for gain public opinion. He met with the constituents of Dhaalu atoll Bandidhoo, Hulhudheli, Rinbidhoo and Meedhoo; all of which fall within the Meedhoo constituency.

During these meetings, several of the constituents had requested Siyam to run for the seat once more, following which he announced his decision.

Siyam has assured to extend his support to the government towards the development of his constituency.