Ballot boxes for parliamentary election in 3 countries

Voters cast their ballots at a polling station in Male' in the PPM-PNC primaries for the parliamentary elections on January 27, 2024. (Photo/Infinite Moments/Moosa Nadheem)

Elections Commission (EC) on Saturday, said ballot boxes for the upcoming parliamentary election will be stationed in three foreign locations.

EC Secretary General Hassan Zakariyya, speaking with 'Sun' said voters re-registered sufficient for ballot boxes in three foreign countries; which include India, Sri Lanka and Malaysia.

"During the re-registration window, voters had re-registered sufficiently warranting ballot boxes in three countries, which are Trivandrum, India, Colombo, Sri Lanka, and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia," Hassan commented.

The commission said ballot boxes will not be placed in other foreign countries since sufficient voters had not registered during the re-registratio window.

With the parliamentary election slated for April 21st, the re-registration window EC opened expired at 15:00 on Saturday, March 16th.