Bigey elected MDP’s PG leader

Alifushi MP Mohamed Rasheed Hussain. (File Photo/People's Majlis)

Alifushi MP Mohamed Rasheed Hussain (Bigey) has been elected as the parliamentary group leader of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP).

The election was held on Wednesday evening.

Three candidates contested the MDP PG election. They are:

  • Mohamed Rasheed Hussain (Bigey), Alifushi MP
  • Abdul Ghanee Abdul Hakeem, Kurendhoo MP
  • Abdulla Jabir, Kaashidhoo MP

Bigey won the election with 28 votes. His closest rival Jabir won 20 votes, while Abdul Ghanee won just two votes.

51 MPs from the Parliament’s majority party voted in the election. One vote was ruled as invalid.

Bigey replaced North Hithadhoo MP Mohamed Aslam, who was elected as the Parliament’s Speaker two weeks back.

MDP holds a majority at the Parliament with 56 MPs. With his election victory, Bigey is now the Parliament’s majority leader.