13 newly appointed judges to various courts take oath

13 newly appointed judges take oath on March 13, 2023. (Photo/High Court)

Thirteen newly appointed judges to High Court, Criminal Court, Civil Court and magistrate courts took their oath on Monday.

The judges took their oath during a special ceremony held at Theemuge on Monday evening which was attended by Judicial Service Commission’s (JSC) President Hisaan Hussain, Chief Justice Ahmed Muthasin and Attorney General Ibrahim Riffath.

The judges were sworn in by Supreme Court Justice Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim. They are;

  • Ahmed Shakeel – High Court
  • Ibrahim Ihsaan – Criminal Court
  • Ibrahim Zihunee- Criminal Court
  • Aminath Azlifa – Criminal Court
  • Sinan Ali – Civil Court
  • Faisal Adam – Civil Court
  • Abdulla Ihsan – Civil Court
  • Mohamed Fazeeh – Chief Magistrate of GDh. Faresmaathoda Magistrate Court
  • Ahmed Niyaz – Chief Magistrate F. Feeali Magistrate Court
  • Roohulla Shiyam – Chief Magistrate of GA. Gemanafushi Magistrate Court
  • Yasir Mohamed - Chief Magistrate of M. Mulah Magistrate Court
13 newly appointed judges take oath on March 13, 2023. (Photo/High Court)

Speaking at the oath-taking ceremony, Justice Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim reminded all the new appointees to uphold the judges’ code of conduct as the most important thing. He advised them to become exemplary people for others during the course of work and outside of work.

“Judges should be patient and soft-spoken. However, these traits must not be a judge’s weakness,” he said.

Underscoring judges would be at the receiving end of criticism and anger from many people – Justice Mohamed Ibrahim advised judges to exercise control over their anger and accept criticism.