MDP seeks recount of votes in 4 Male’ constituencies

Electoral officials count ballots in the Local Council Elections 2020 on April 10, 2021. (Sun Photo/Fayaz Moosa)

Ruling MDP called for a recount of votes in four constituencies of Male’ City on Sunday, a day after it lost its supermajority in the capital’s council in the Local Council Elections.

In a press conference on Sunday afternoon, MDP leader and Parliament Speaker, former President Mohamed Nasheed said that he accepts MDP lost in Male’, especially the Male’ mayoral seat.

He said that MDP has however requested a recount of votes in four constituencies which the party lost by a small margin. The constituencies in question are: Central Henveiru (T-3), South Henveiru (T-4), North Machangolhi (T-10), and North West Maafannu (T-15).

Preliminary results show opposition PPM candidates leading in the four constituencies by a small margin.



Adam Rameez (PPM) - 243 votes

Ismail Hussain (MDP) - 230 votes



Fathimath Shamnaz Ali Saleem (PPM) - 402 votes

Aminath Rishfa Ahmed (MDP) - 393 votes



Saeeda Rashad (PPM) - 338 votes

Lirgam Waheed (MDP) - 315 votes



Hassan Nazim (PPM) - 324 votes

Mohamed Areesh (MDP) - 298 votes

“We are seeking a recount, clarification on four seats. We are also seeking clarification on result sheets and ballot papers for these four seats,” said Nasheed.

Nasheed said that MDP won five seats, and accepts that it lost the remaining seats, except for the four seats they are seeking recounts for.

“MDP knows full well we lost the remaining seats. Especially the mayoral seat,” he said.

Nasheed has congratulated Male’ City mayor-elect, PPM deputy leader Dr. Mohamed Muizzu and assured him of his cooperation.