Speaker Nasheed, first to sign no-confidence motion against Economic Minister

Parliament Speaker, former President Mohamed Nasheed presides over a parliamentary sitting. (Photo/People's Majlis)

Parliament Speaker, former Maldivian President Mohamed Nasheed was the first to sign a no-confidence motion to oust Economic Development Minister Fayyaz Ismail, a senior member of his own party.

Nasheed is the leader of main ruling party Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), while Fayyaz is a senior MDP member and one of Maldivian President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih’s closest Cabinet ministers.

Several MDP parliamentarians are lobbying for signatures to submit a no-confidence motion against Fayyaz at the Parliament.

A reliable source told Sun that Nasheed’s signature is at the top of the list.

One MDP parliamentarian, who spoke to Sun on condition of anonymity, said that the no-confidence motion itself was initiated by Nasheed. However, the reason for the motion remains unclear.

Sun has been informed that the no-confidence motion has been in the works within MDP for some time.

“I have been informed that they have gathered a considerable number of signatures now. But I’m not sure if they have gathered enough signatures,” said the parliamentarian.

The parliamentarian alleges the motion is being backed by senior members within MDP.

Another MDP parliamentarian, who also spoke to Sun on condition of anonymity, said that enough signatures had been gathered to submit the motion to the Parliament.

No-confidence motions against Cabinet ministers require the signatures of minimum 14 parliamentarians to be accepted for consideration, and a majority vote to pass. This means the motion to oust Fayyaz will require the vote of 43 parliamentarians.

Economic Development Minister Fayyaz Ismail. (File Photo)

While Nasheed has signed the no-confidence motion, several MDP parliamentarians have also publicly declared their support for Fayyaz, stating that there is no cause to question Fayyaz’s capabilities, and no cause to submit a no-confidence motion against him.

Those who have publicly declared their support for Fayyaz so far include:

  • Gan MP Mohamed Wisam
  • Hulhumale’ MP Ali Niyaz
  • Dhaandhoo MP Abdulla Yauqoob
  • Ihavandhoo MP Mohamed Shifau
  • West Maafannu MP Ibrahim Falah
  • Kinbidhoo MP Mohamed Nashiz
  • Addu Meedhoo MP Rozaina Adam
  • Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef
  • South Machangolhi MP Ahmed Haitham

Fayyaz is one of the most influential figures within the Cabinet, and the reason for the move against him remains unclear.

The Parliament has 87 seats, 65 of which are filled by MDP. And while MDP enjoys a supermajority at the Parliament, they are visibly divided on this issue.