MDP PG leader: Defiance of whip-line will be reviewed, reprimanded accordingly

MDP parliamentary group leader, Central Henveyru MP Ali Azim (C) converses with other MDP parliamentarians. (Sun Photo/Mohamed Muzain Nazim)

Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) Parliamentary Group leader MP Ali Azim has said that MPs that defied a party whip-line will be reprimanded after a review.

Four MPs defied the whip line issued by the party for the Constitutional amendment regarding extending the terms of Councilors during the Committee phase of the bill.

A member of the previous parliament sitting, Reeko Moosa Manik, who himself was ousted from MDP for defying a whip line, stated regarding the matter that what was being projected was extremely clear.

Moosa added that the whip line of MDP was not something that has to be complied with. He lamented the fact that MPs of the current parliament were not reprimanded in the manner he was for defying the whip line.

Moosa alleged that he had become a threat to party leaders when he was dismissed from the party in 2017. Moosa was a long-standing member of MDP when he dismissed. 

Responding to Moosa, MDP PG group leader, MP Ali Azim said that the matter would be reviewed and those in violation would be punished according to party regulations.

The whip line was issued with a vote of 41 MPs of MDP to follow through on a government-proposed amendment to the Constitution.

However, four MPs of MDP did not take part in the vote to accept the bill into the Parliament last night. The four MPs are North Mahchangoalhi MP Mohamed Rasheed, Madaveli MP Hussain Firushaan, North Maafannu MP Imthiyaaz Fahmy, and Ungoofaaru MP Mohamed Waheed.

They are also among the 10 MPs that voted against issuing a three-line whip for the constitutional amendment. 

The matter of extending the terms of Councilors have drawn divisions inside the governing MDP.