Mariya resigns from Parliament

Mariya Ahmed Didi. (Sun Photo/Ahmed Awshan Ilyas)

Mariya Ahmed Didi has stepped down from her North Machangolhi seat at the Parliament.

Mariya announced her resignation this Saturday evening. She is expected to be appointed a member of President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Ibu)’s Cabinet as the Minister of Defense.

Ahmed Mahloof, MP for South Galolhu constituency also resigned from the Parliament this Saturday evening.

Mahloof is tipped to be appointed Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment.

It has been confirmed the Solih’s administration will have 19 ministries.

Sources within the opposition coalition report to ‘Sun’ that Cabinet members have now been finalized after negotiations between the four opposition leaders.

Solih’s Cabinet:

  • Minister of Foreign Affairs, Abdulla Shahid
  • Minister of Islamic Affairs, Imran Abdulla
  • Minister of Tourism, Dr. Abdulla Mausoom
  • Minister of Health, Dr. Shah Mahir
  • Minister of Economic Development, Fayyaz Ismail
  • Minister of Finance, Ibrahim Ameer
  • Minister of Defense, Mariya Ahmed Didi
  • Minister of Fisheries, Marine Resources and Agriculture, Zaha Waheed
  • Minister of Gender, Family and Social Services, Sidhatha Shareef
  • Minister of National Planning and Infrastructure, Mohamed Aslam
  • Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Athifa Shakoor
  • Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment, Ahmed Mahloof
  • Minister of Science, Communication and Technology, Ahmed Fayaz
  • Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation, Aishath Nahula
  • Minister of Arts, Culture and Heritage, Yumna Maumoon
  • Minister of Higher Education, Dr. Ibrahim Hassan