Bill on disqualification of MPs for floor crossing submitted to Majlis

Vilimale' MP Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik (2nd L) pictured interacting with fellow lawmakers inside People's Majlis compound. (File Photo/Sun/Mohamed Afrah)

Ruling political party, Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) has submitted a bill to the People’s Majlis to disqualify lawmakers for floor crossing.

The bill was submitted to the Majlis by leader of PPM’s parliamentary group, Vilimale’ MP Ahmed Nihan Hussain Manik.

The Supreme Court, on February 1, annulled its own order to disqualify 12 lawmakers for floor crossing. The Supreme Court later issued an injunction suspending the implementation of its order on February 1 to reinstate the 12 lawmakers. The injunction was issued in response to a case submitted by Attorney General Mohamed Anil challenging the constitutionality of the order.

The bill, if turned to law, will disqualify lawmakers who leave their political parties after election, or changes to another political party after election.

PPM says the bill also procedures for by-elections when seats are left vacant due to floor crossing.

MP Nihan is yet to disclose any details regarding the bill.

Lawmakers who have been disqualified by Elections Commission for floor crossing are:





  • South Machangolhi MP Abdulla Sinan







  • Dhangethi MP Ilham Ahmed







  • SouthThinadhoo MP Abdulla Ahmed







  • Vilingili MP Saud Hussain







  • Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim







  • Maduvveri MP Mohamed Ameeth







  • Dhidhdhoo MP Abdul Latheef Mohamed







  • North Thinadhoo MP Saudhulla Hilmy







  • Hanimaadhoo MP Hussain Shahudhy







  • Ihavandhoo MP Mohamed Abdulla (Mohanma)







  • Thimarafushi MP Mohamed Mustafa







  • North Fuvahmulah MP Ali Shah