Ibu elected as PG Leader, Ali Waheed and Jabir as PG Deputy Leaders of MDP

Parliamentary Group (PG) Leader of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) of three years, Hinnavaru MP Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Ibu) has been re-elected as the party’s PG Leader, while Thoddoo MP Ali Waheed and Kaashidhoo MP Abdullah Jabir have been elected as its PG Deputy Leaders.

Ibu was the only contestant in the election for PG Leader, and he was elected with 25 votes in favour out of a total of 28. Two out of the 30 members of the PG did not participate in the voting as they are presently out of the country.

Four people contested in the election for PG Deputy Leader. Ali Waheed received 25 votes while Jabir received 13 votes.

Unsuccessful candidates in the PG Deputy Leader election were Dhidhdhoo MP Ahmed Sameer who received 11 votes, and Nolhivaram MP Mohamed Nasheed (Kernel) who received 5 votes.

Hamid Abdul Gafoor was elected as PG Secretary General; and Galolhu-North MP Eva Abdullah, Baarah MP Mohamed Shifaz and Hulhumeedhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb were elected as PG Whips.