Democrats running for 41 Majlis seats; holding primaries for 4

House of Democrats. (Sun Photo)

The opposition Democrats have announced they are running for 41 seats in the upcoming parliamentary elections, and is holding primaries to decide their candidates for four electoral districts.

The Democrats announced on Monday that 46 candidates applied to run in the parliamentary elections on behalf of the party; 33 male candidates and 13 female candidates.

Many of the incumbent Democrats’ MPs have already secured their tickets for the upcoming elections. They are:

  • Central Henveiru MP Ali Azim
  • North Galolhu MP Eva Abdulla
  • North Maafannu MP Imthiyaz Fahmy
  • Central Maafannu MP Ibrahim Rasheed (Bondey)
  • West Henveiru MP Hassan Latheef
  • Ungoofaaru MP Mohamed Waheed (Wadde), for Inguraidhoo seat

The candidates contesting the primaries are:

  • Kelaa district: Mariyam Haneefa Khalid and Fathuhullah Ismail
  • Kanditheemu district: Ahmed Raisam and Ali Nifaz Mohamed
  • South Hulhumale’ district: Hassan Ageel, Hussain Firushan and Mohamed Faisal
  • South Henveiru district: Ahmed Aswan Numan and Mohamed Saif Fathih (Aekko)

The Democrats is holding its primaries on Saturday.